Happy Wanderer

In this song, the last line of the previous verse is added at the end of the chorus. It is in italics below. The first time the chorus is sung, it would be “knapsack on my back,” but the second time the line would be “come join my happy song.”

I love to go a-wandering,
Along the mountain track,
And as I go, I love to sing,
My knapsack on my back.

Chorus:
Val-der-ri, val-der-ra
Val-der-ri, val-der-ra ha ha ha ha ha
Val-der-ri, val-der-ra
My knapsack on my back.*

I love to wander by the stream,
That dances in the sun,
So joyously it calls to me,
Come join my happy song.

Chorus

I wave my hat to all I meet,
And they wave back at me,
And blackbirds call so loud and clear,
From every greenwood tree.

Chorus

Oh, may I go a-wandering,
Until the day I die,
And may I always laugh and sing,
Beneath God’s clear blue sky.

Chorus

Posted on 06/12/2017, in Brownies, Building, Closing, Guides, Leaders, Pathfinders, Rangers, Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

